Pen & Ink Works


Anime for a cause
October 9, 2011, 1:12 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Calling all Heroes and Heroines: Tips on Character Creation

Artwork by Heather Matsuura

Join us at the Liliha Public Library on Saturday October 22 from 11-12pm for a unique workshop on the ins and outs of putting together your own personalized character based on chance and serendipity. No drawing experience is required and the workshop is offered free of charge as a part of Teen Reading Week.

Following our workshop will be talks from two close friends of P&IW. At 1:30pm Kawaii Kon’s Senior Administrator Roy Bann will conduct his touring panel, “Japanese Cultural References in Anime” while co-creator and artist behind the locally produced webcomic nemu*nemu Audra Furuichi will give her presentation “Picture It! The ‘Net, Tech and Comix — The Sharing Art and Stories in the Digital Age” at 2:30pm.

Liliha Public Library is located at 1515 Liliha St.

Anime for Charity: A Benefit for Shriners Hospital for Children

A young local anime fan, Ming Qi Vinci, will be organizing “Anime for Charity: A Mini-Convention” in hopes of raising funds for Shriners Hospital for Children Honolulu on Sunday, October 23 at Windward Estates in Kaneohe from 12-4 pm.

P&IW has been invited to participate and will be offering personalized mini-anime portraits of visitors wanting to become anime-sized! Budding art collectors can also purchase original works of art from Project Charity, an artist group consisting of Ming Qi and her friend Sarah.

Visitors can also expect drawing and cosplay contests along with a raffle with prizes like a gift package stuffed with nemu*nemu merchandise as well as a Kawaii Kon prize pack including a three-day pass. The anime series Hetalia will also be screened and food will be available for purchase.

Artwork by Ming Qi Vinci

About Ming Qi Vinci:

I am a local 17-year-old girl who is recently recovering from a brain tumor. I have been homebound for almost three years since I had to be taken out of school due to the rigorous hormone therapy. In addition to this, I have suffered from a hypothyroid disorder, which will affect my endocrine system for my entire life. My father suffers from Addison’s disease and has undergone multiple surgeries for the past few years.

 The reason I feel the need to tell my story is because I wanted to make it clear why I am holding this fundraiser. I remember passing Shriners Hospital on my way to turn in my entries for the Liliha Library Anime Art contest this past Spring and as I was passing by, I thought of the children who have also been ill for their entire lives. I was also thinking about anime and how its fan-base may be able to support the cause.

 I was lucky enough to be able to stay with my family—and even though Shriners is quite an amazing environment, I know there is a level of hardship that comes with being hospitalized. I want to be able to help spread some kindness to these children as well as supplying the community with a way to get involved through anime and manga. I’ve always wanted to do something to help those around me. This is why I am ever bent on making this fundraiser a success!

Admission is $7.00 for those aged 12+ and $3.00 for anyone younger.  Windward Estates is located at 46-063 Emepela Place, Kaneohe

All proceeds will be donated to Shriners Hospital for Children.  To those who are unable to attend but would like to make a donation please visit this page set up for the event.

Please contact Ming Qi via phone (808-235-7665) or email (minguqi69@hotmail.com) if there are any inquiries.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

